# Montana Hunter & Bowhunter Education Volunteer Instructors FAQ's

# How many classes am I committed to teach each year?

FWP requests that each volunteer instructor participate in at least one full class each year.

# How long do the classes last?

Each class is required to be a minimum of 12-hours. Most classes tend to last 14-18 hours. Many are conducted over several nights of 2-3 hours each night. Some classes have their field day on Saturdays.

# Will I have to teach classes by myself?

Our policy requires two adult instructors or one adult instructor and one parent in each classroom.

### What about potential liability concerns as a volunteer instructor?

Montana law states: MCA 27-1-721. Immunity of certain firearms and hunter safety or hunter education instructors. A person who is designated as a hunter safety instructor or hunter education instructor by the department of fish, wildlife, and parks under 87-2-105 or certified as an instructor by a national firearms association, who trains people in the lawful use of firearms, and who is not employed by a governmental entity is not liable for the conduct, acts, or omissions of a student handling firearms unless the instructor exhibits gross negligence giving rise to causation of the damages.

## If I am injured during class time, does the State cover me under Workers Compensation?

Liability insurance coverage is provided for active instructors subject to the following conditions and limitations:

- All activities must be part of a formal course of training.
- Training activities must be in accordance with the policies and procedures described by FWP.
- Activities outside the reasonable interpretation of these guidelines may not be covered by the state's insurance.