Apprentice Hunter Program - The Process



Obtaining an Apprentice Hunter Certificate

Who

The apprentice hunter MUST go to an FWP Office and have a completed *Apprentice Hunter Certification Form* to purchase their *Apprentice Hunter Certificate*.

Where

Purchase at any FWP office.

Fee \$5

Purchasing Species Specific License(s)

Who

The apprentice may purchase any appropriate licenses that the apprentice is eligible for once they have received their *Apprentice Hunter Certification.* Proof of Montana residency is required to purchase Montana resident licenses. *If a resident minor, parent's valid MT Drivers License or ID card must be presented at the time of purchase.

Where

Purchase at any FWP office or license provider.

Fee

An apprentice hunter who is under 12 years of age is eligible to obtain the unlimited reduced cost licenses available to a person who is 12 years of age. All other normal license fees apply.

Completing Apprentice Hunter Mentor Form

Who

The mentor MUST complete the form. The mentor MUST sign their section and get signed approval from the parent or legal guardian, if applicable.

Where

The form can be picked up at any FWP office or downloaded from the FWP website.



Fee

There is no fee for the Mentor form.

Go Hunting

The mentor MUST accompany and supervise the apprentice while hunting and MUST remain within sight of and direct voice contact with the apprentice hunter at all times. The mentor MUST have the *Apprentice Hunter Mentor Form* in his/her possession at all times while in the field.

A mentor MAY also hunt when accompanying their apprentice.

The apprentice MUST have their *Conservation License* and other applicable licenses in their possession at all times while in the field.



Apprentice Hunter Program - The People



The Apprentice Hunter law was enacted by the 2015 State Legislature creating the opportunity for youth 10-17 years of age to hunt without completing hunter education. The law was amended in 2017 to increase the age limit and prohibit an apprentice hunter from obtaining a black bear, mountain lion or wolf license.

Apprentice

An apprentice MUST:

 be 10 years of age or older at the time of license purchase.



 have appropriate current Montana hunting license(s) for the species being hunted; the licenses MUST show that he/she is Apprentice Hunter Certified.

An apprentice MAY:

- be a resident or nonresident
- obtain an Apprentice Hunter Certification for no more than 2 license years before they must complete a hunter safety and education course

An apprentice is NOT ELIGIBLE to:

- obtain a special bow and arrow license without first having completed a bowhunter education course and be 12 years of age before January 16 of the following year.
- obtain a resident hound training license for chasing mountain lion
- participate in a hunting license or permit drawing with a limited quota
- obtain any bighorn sheep, black bear, mountain lion or wolf license
- · obtain an elk license if under 15 years of age

Mentor

A mentor MUST:

- · be 21 years old or older
- if the apprentice hunter is under 18 years of age, be related to the apprentice by blood, adoption, or marriage; or be the apprentice's legal guardian, or be designated by the apprentice's legal guardian



- \cdot have completed hunter ed–if born after Jan 1, 1985
- · have a current Montana hunting license
- · complete an Apprentice Hunter Mentor Form
- agree to accompany and supervise the apprentice hunter and remain within sight of and direct voice contact with the apprentice hunter at all times while in the field
- confirm that the apprentice hunter possesses the physical and psychological capacity to safely and ethically engage in hunting activities.
- only accompany one apprentice at a time
- A mentor MAY:

hunt when accompanying their apprentice.

Violation of these terms could result in the loss of hunting privileges for up to one full license season.

Parent or Legal Guardian

If the mentor is not related to the apprentice (under 18 years of age) by blood, adoption, or marriage, the parent MUST:

designate the mentor on an Apprentice Hunter Mentor Form (available online or at any FWP office.)





Apprentice Hunter Certification Form

Take this completed form to an FWP office to be certified and to purchase your Apprentice Hunter Certificate (\$5). The Apprentice must also purchase a Conservation License along with any appropriate Montana hunting license(s) for the species being hunted. The apprentice will be certified for the entire license year and needs to be certified each year (maximum of 2).

***Montana resident:** must present a valid Montana Drivers License or ID Card at the time of license purchase; if apprentice is under 18 years of age, a valid parent's Drivers License or ID Card must be presented at the time of license purchase as proof of residency.

Apprentice Information

Name First		MI	Las	it		Jr./Sr.	Home Phone
							() -
Physical Address			Mailing Address				
City					State	Zipcode	Country
FemaleMale	Weight	Height	Eyes	Hair	Date of Birth	ALS#	Last 4-digits of SSN
Length of Residency in Montana Signatur X				ure of Apprentice			

A person 10 years of age or older may be certified to receive an apprentice hunting license and may hunt in Montana, without hunter education, when accompanied by a mentor. Apprentice hunters may obtain an Apprentice Hunter Certification for *no more than 2 license years* before they must complete a hunter safety and education course.

Return only this form along with \$5, by mail or in person to your regional FWP office, addresses can be found at <u>https://fwp.mt.gov/aboutfwp/contact-us</u> or mail to FWP Licensing in Helena at PO Box 200701, Helena MT 59620

For office use only.

Apprentice Hunter Mentor Form

Mentor must carry this form with them while in the field.

APPRENTICE



A person 10 years of age or older who is awarded an apprentice hunting certificate may hunt in Montana when accompanied by a mentor but is NOT ELIGIBLE to:

• obtain a special bow and arrow license without first having completed a bowhunter education course and be 12 years of age by Jan. 16 of the following year.

- obtain a resident hound training license for chasing mountain lion;
- participate in a hunting license or permit drawing with a limited quota;
- obtain any bighorn sheep, black bear, mountain lion or wolf license.
- obtain an elk license if under 15 years of age.

Apprentice Information

Last Name:	First Name:		MI:
Address:	City:	- State:	Zip code:
Date of Birth: ALS	5 Number:		

MENTOR

A mentor must be at least 21 years old and meet all of the following requirements:

related to the apprentice or appointed by the apprentice's legal guardian (if apprentice is under 18 years of age); if born after Jan. 1, 1985, must have completed hunter education; must have a current Montana hunting license; agree to supervise closely the apprentice and remain within sight of and direct voice contact with the apprentice hunter at all times while in the field; confirm that the apprentice is psychologically and physically prepared to safely and ethically hunt.

Violation of these terms by an apprentice hunter or mentor could result in the loss of hunting privileges for up to one full license season.

Mentor Information

Last Name:	Firs	t Name:		_MI:	
Address:	City	·:	_State:	_Zip code:	
Date of Birth:	Hunter Ed. Cert. #:	ALS Number:	Phone number:		
Mentor is:	Related to the apprentice by blood, adoption, or marriage, or is the apprentice's legal guardian Designated as a mentor by the parent or legal guardian of the apprentice Not related to the apprentice 18 years of age or older				

I, the undersigned, confirm that the above named apprentice possesses the physical and psychological capacity to safely and ethically engage in hunting activities. Furthermore, I acknowledge that I have read and understand all of the above conditions required of me while acting as an apprentice mentor. In signing this form, I, the undersigned, swear or affirm that all of the information contained in this form is true and correct.

Signature of Mentor: _

PARENT or LEGAL GUARDIAN and ASSIGNMENT to MENTOR

This section is required if mentor is NOT related to the apprentice by blood, adoption, or marriage.

Parent or Legal Guardian Information

Last Name:			Name:	MI:	
Address:		City:		State:	Zip code:
Date of Birth:	Hunter Ed. Cert. #:		ALS Number:	Phone number:	

Assignment to mentor

I, ______, as the parent or legal guardian of the above named apprentice hereby affirm that the above named mentor is capable and qualified to assist the named apprentice and hereby grant my permission to him/her to accompany the named apprentice.

Signature of Parent or Legal Guardian Authorizing Mentor: