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Off-Highway Vehicle Program
Nonresident Temporary-Use Permit FAQ

1. What is the Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) Temporary-Use Permit?
The permit allows nonresidents the opportunity to legally ride their OHVs in Montana. In
2019, the Montana State Legislature passed a bill to align the permit’s requirements more
closely with surrounding states’ regulations. The updated requirements are now in effect.

2. Who must purchase the permit?
Nonresidents who wish to ride their OHVs in Montana must purchase the permit.

3. Who is exempt from purchasing the permit?
Anyone with an OHV registered in North Dakota does not need to purchase the permit.

4. How long is the permit valid?
The permit is valid for one season. It expires on December 31 of the year of purchase.

5. How much does the permit cost?
Each permit costs $35.

6. Where do | put the permit decal?
The permit decal should be placed on the OHV so that it is clearly visible and identifiable
from a distance.

7. Where can | purchase a permit?
Permits can be purchased through the Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks Online Licensing Service, at
any FWP office, or from local vendors. More information, including a list of vendors, can be
found at_http://stateparks.mt.gov/recreation/ohvProgram.html under “OHV Permits and Laws.”

8. What are the revenues from the permit used for?
Revenue from each permit will be divided as follows:

e $27.50 into grants to maintain OHV trails

$2.50 towards enforcement of OHV laws

S1 to mitigate and eradicate noxious weeds along OHV trails
$2 to Search and Rescue

$2 to the permit seller
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