MONTANA FISH,
WILDLIFE & PARKS

Bison
Montana Hunting Regulations

Regulations Adopted by F&RW Commission

Regulations for season dates, structures, and restrictions were
adopted by the F&W Commission on February 13, 2020, under the
authority granted in MCA 87-1-301and are valid March 1, 2020 through
February 28, 2021. The F&W Commission reserves the authority to
amend the seasons, limits and regulations herein if deemed necessary
for wildlife management purposes. Statutes and other information,
including other agencies’ restrictions, are provided as a courtesy and
do not fall under commission authority. Martha Williams, Director.
Discrimination Prohibited - State and Federal laws, Title VI of Civil
Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,
Title Il of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age
Discrimination Act of 1975, and Title IX of the Education Amendments
0f 1972, prohibited discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, age,
religion, national origin, or disability. Anyone believing he or she has
been discriminated against (as described above) in any FWP program,
activity, or facility may write to FWP Human Resources, 1420 East
Sixth Avenue, PO Box 200701, Helena, MT 59620-0701 or the office
of Equal Opportunity, U.S. Department of the Interior, Washington,
D.C. 20240.

Obtain a License

* A hunter may hold only one bison license.

* Bison licenses are allotted through a random drawing.

* Hunters must have applied for a bison license by May 1, 2020.
* Successful either-sex bison license applicants:

- will receive a letter with instructions to view online bison hunter
orientation.

- hunters wishing to use archery equipment MUST also complete
a mandatory archery orientation outlined in the letter sent to
successful either-sex applicants.

* Potential second choice hunters will only be contacted in the event
of the hunt roster being implemented. Up to 200 second choice
state-issued licenses MAY be incrementally awarded depending
upon bison migration into individual hunting districts. The bison
hunt roster is primarily used to issue cow/calf only licenses during
the general season, depending on migration. It can also be used
for bison damage or management hunts for bull, cow, or calf at
any time as needed. All bison second choice applicants are given
a roster number. Applicants can visit MyFWP at fwp.mt.gov to see
their position on the roster. To check the status of the hunt and to
see whether the hunt roster has been implemented, please call the
bison hotline at 406-577-7889 during the hunt periods.

License cost: Resident Nonresident
Conservation 12-17 & 62+ years $4 $10
Conservation 18-61 years $8 $10

Base Hunting License $10 $15

Bison Application Nonrefundable Fee $10 $50

Bison License $125 $1250

Bison License Quota

* Nonresidents are limited to, but not guaranteed, 10 percent of the
hunting district’s license quota.

*In addition to the 85 either-sex State-issued licenses and the
potential 200 second choice state-issued licenses, Tribal treaty bison
hunting may occur concurrently with state bison hunting.

* Hunting is restricted to individuals with licenses issued via a drawing
process similar to that employed for other special licenses issued
by FWP or as designated by Tribal authority. All licenses are non-
transferable.

Laws and Rules

- Statute denoted by MCA.
- Commission Rule denoted by CR
Aircraft- Unlawful Use (MCA 87-6-208)

* It is unlawful for a person to shoot a game animal from an aircraft.

« It is unlawful for a person to use an aircraft for the purpose of
co_nce?trating, pursuing, driving, rallying, or stirring up any game
animal.

« Aircraft may not be used to locate game animals for the purpose of
- Hunting those animals during the same hunting day after a person

has been airborne or

- Providing information for another person for the purpose of hunting
those animals within the same hunting day after being airborne.

Artificial Light (MCA 87-6-401)

It is unlawful for anyone to take or attempt to take any game
animal or game bird with the aid of projected artificial light. Use
of rifle scopes that project an artificial light to illuminate the target
or project infra-red light visible only with specialized optics to
illuminate the target are unlawful for the taking of game animals.

Baiting (MCA 87-6-401, CR)
* It is unlawful for anyone to hunt or attempt to hunt by the aid of or
with the use of any bait, salt lick, trap, snare or set gun.

* Baiting shall mean the placing, exposing, depositing, distributing, or
scattering of food sources or salt so as to constitute a lure or attraction.

Bison Specific Regulations

« To protect public safety and minimize traffic obstructions, no bison
hunting is allowed within 100 yards of US HWYs 20, 89, 191, or 287.

*Hunting on national forest lands must follow restrictions in USFS
order 36 CFR 261.10 (d) (firearm discharges are prohibited within
150 yards of residence, building, campsite, developed recreation site,
or occupied area or across a forest service road or body of water).

*Hunting shall be only by foot or horseback.

* Hunters who harvest a bison shall, upon field dressing the carcass,
cut open the rumen and remove and spread its vegetative contents.

* Hunters who harvest a bison near a roadway or any other facility shall
remove all unutilized parts of the carcass (entrails, tissues, bones, hides,
fetuses, legs, etc.) to an area at least 200 yards from any roadway,
dwelling, campground, designated trail or trailhead. These unutilized
parts shall be placed in a manner as to be inconspicuous to passersby.

«* Bison hunt information is available by calling 1-406-577-7889.

Check Stations (MCA 87-6-218)

All hunters are required by law to stop as directed at all designated
check stations on their way to and from hunting areas, even if they
have no game to be checked.

Dogs (MCA 87-6-404)
It is unlawful for a person to use dogs to chase game animals. Dogs may
be utilized to recover or locate wounded game animals, but handlers
shall maintain physical control of the dog at all times by means of a
maximum 50-foot lead attached to the dog’s collar or harness.

Evidence of Sex (MCA 87-6-406)

A person who kills a game animal in this state shall retain evidence of
sex of the animal with the carcass until it is processed. The provisions
of this section do not apply to a game animal harvested using a license
with which either sex of the animal may be taken. Evidence of sex does
not need to be naturally attached. A person who kills a game animal
in a hunting district where the harvest is limited by the animal’s antler
point or horn size shall retain the antlers or horns until the carcass is
processed.

Firearms

- The only means of taking allowed are center-fire rifles and/or
archery equipment. Crossbows and muzzleloading black powder
rifles are not permitted.
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- Rifles are restricted to center-fire, 150 grain or larger bullet.

- Hunters wishing to harvest bison with archery equipment must
complete the mandatory archery orientation course at: fwp.mt.gov
Glandular Scents (CR)

« Natural or artificial glandular scents may be used by licensed hunters
to attract game animals by spraying or pouring the scent on the
ground or other objects. Exception: Natural or artificial glandular
scents may not be used to hunt black bears.

* Hunters may not create a scent station where the scent continues
to be dispensed without the hunter’s direct action, such as an
automatic device, which drips or otherwise continues to dispense
scent.

* No scents other than glandular may be used for attracting game
animals, but other scents may be used to mask human odor.

Hunter Harassment (MCA 87-6-215)
It is unlawful to:
* Intentionally interfere with the lawful taking of a wild animal.

* Disturb an individual engaged in the lawful taking of a wild animal
with intent to prevent the taking of the animal.

Hunter Orange Requirement
(MCA 87-6-414)
Firearm Hunters
Any person hunting or accompanying a hunter as an outfitter or
guide must wear a minimum of 400 square inches of hunter orange
(fluorescent) material above the waist, visible at all times (see the
following exception).

Archery Hunters

A licensed bowhunter pursuing deer, elk and/or antelope during
the Archery Only Season or in an archery only hunting district is
not required to meet the hunter orange requirement, even if there
is a concurrent firearm season in that hunting district or portion of
district. However, bowhunters hunting during any portion of the
general (firearm) season for deer, elk, antelope, moose, bighorn sheep,
mountain goat, black bear, and/or mountain lion must always wear a
minimum of 400 square inches of hunter orange (fluorescent) above
the waist, visible at all times.

Hunting Hours (CR)

Authorized hunting hours for the taking of game animals begin one-
half hour before sunrise and end one-half hour after sunset each day
of the hunting season. See the official Sunrise-Sunset Tables listed
on page 135.

Incidental Harvest Resulting in an Unlawfully Taken Animal

If you or a member of your hunting party shoots an animal that results
in an unlawfully taken animal, you should notify an FWP game warden
or 1-800-TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668) immediately and follow their
instructions.
> Hunters should field dress the animal but DO NOT transport the
animal until you’ve received instructions.

Inspection by Warden (MCA 87-1-502, 87-6-218)

Game animals, game and nongame birds, fish, and furbearers taken
must be shown to FWP Enforcement personnel for inspection when
requested.

Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact
(IWVC)
Montana is a member of the IWVC. Under the compact, member
states recognize suspensions of hunting, fishing or trapping privileges.
It is unlawful for a violator whose privilege to hunt, fish or trap is
suspended to obtain or attempt to obtain a license, tag or permit in
a member state. For more information, call 406-444-2452.

Kill Site Verification (ARM 12.6.1005)

At the request of a Department Game Warden, it is required to
return to the kill site of any game animal, game bird, wolf, or
furbearer that has been hunted or trapped.

Landowner Permission (MCA 87-6-415)
A resident or nonresident shall obtain permission of the landowner, the
lessee, or their agents before taking or attempting to take furbearing
animals, game animals, migratory game birds, nongame wildlife,
predatory animals, upland game birds, or wolves while hunting on
private property.
* Even if the land is not posted, hunters must have permission from
the land owner, lessee, or their agent before hunting on private
property, regardless of whether the land is posted or not.

» Access to public land through private land requires permission of
the private land owner, lessee, or their agent.

« Retrieval of all wildlife through private land requires permission of
the private landowner, lessee, or their agent.

License and Permit Possession/Use
(MCA 87-6-304)

It is unlawful to:

* Hunt or attempt to hunt for any game animal unless the person is
carrying the required license or permit at the time.

» Refuse to produce a license or permit and the identification used
in purchasing a license or permit for inspection to a game warden.

* Alter or change a license in any material manner.

* Loan or transfer any license to another person.

» Use a license issued to another person.

» Attach the person’s license to a game animal killed by another
person.

* Have physical control over a valid and unused hunting license or
permit issued to another person while in any location that the
species to be hunted may inhabit. This prohibition does not apply
to a person who is carrying or has physical control over a license
or permit issued to that person’s spouse or to any minor when the
spouse or minor is hunting with that person.

License Validation/Tagging
(MCA 87-6-411)

» A hunter must cut out the proper month and day of the kill from the
appropriate license and attach it to the animal before the carcass
is removed from the site of the kill, or before the hunter leaves the
site of the Kkill.

* To properly validate a license (sometimes referred to as a tag):

- The triangles denoting the month and day the animal was killed
must be completely cut out and removed.

- The properly validated license must remain with the meat
(including cold storage) until consumed.

Littering (MCA 75-10-212)
A holder of a Montana resident or nonresident hunting license or
camping permit convicted of littering campgrounds, public or private
lands, streams, or lakes, while hunting, fishing, or camping shall forfeit
any current Montana hunting, fishing, or trapping license and the
privilege to hunt, fish, camp, or trap in Montana for a period of one year.

Marked or Radio-Collared Animals (CR)

Itis lawful to shoot game animals that have radio collars, neck bands,
ear tags and/or other markers, but markers and radio collars must
be returned to FWP. Please report the killing of a marked animal to
the local FWP office.

Motion-Tracking Devices
(MCA 87-6-401)
It is unlawful for a person, while hunting, to possess any electronic
motion-tracking device or mechanism that is designed to track the
motion of a game animal and relay information on the animal’s
movement to the hunter.
Motion tracking devices are defined by F&W Commission as remote
operated camera or video devices capable of transmitting real time
information, pictures or videos; seismic devices; thermal imaging
devices; and satellite and radio telemetry devices.
A radio-tracking collar attached to a dog that is used by a hunter
engaged in lawful hunting activities is not considered an unlawful
motion-tracking device.

Motorized Vehicles (MCA 87-6-405)
It is unlawful for anyone to:

* hunt or attempt to hunt any game animal from any self propelled
(motorized) or drawn vehicle. To be lawful, a hunter must have two
feet on the ground and his/her body outside of the vehicle. Holders
of the Permit To Hunt From A Vehicle are the exception to this.

* use a motorized vehicle or aircraft to concentrate, drive, rally, stir-up,
corral, or harass game animals.

* use a motor-driven vehicle on a road or trail on state land if that
road or trail is posted as closed by the land management agency.
This restriction applies only to state land and not to federal land For
more information related to state school trust lands, see page 29.

* use a motor-driven vehicle other than on a road or trail designated
for travel by a landowner unless permission has been given by that
landowner.
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Off Road- Federal lands (CR)

*operate, on federal public lands, a motorized wheeled vehicle
off legal routes (including game retrieval). All Federally
approved travel plans on public lands in Montana have been
adopted by the F&’W Commission. Contact the appropriate land
management agencies for travel plan information.

Boats (MCA 87-6-207)

* use a powerboat, sailboat, or any boat under sail or any floating
device towed by a powerboat, sailboat, or any boat under sail for
the purpose of killing, capturing, taking, pursuing, concentrating,
driving, or stirring up any game animal.

Off-Highway Vehicles (including ATV, UTV and dirt bikes)

Residents (MCA 23-2-804, 23-2-111) - OHVs must be registered
with the county treasurer and display a current off-highway
permanent registration decal to be used for off-road recreation

on public lands (trails, frozen lakes, reservoirs). To be used on

roads (county, Forest Service, etc.), an OHV must be registered

with the county treasurer and display a license plate and street-
legal modifications. Resident hunters utilizing “summer motorized
recreation trails” must also purchase a summer motorized recreation
trail pass (decal) at a cost of $20, valid for 2 years and expires on
December 31 of the second calendar year. All decals must be affixed
in a conspicuous place on the OHV.

Nonresidents (MCA 23-2-814) - OHVs that are owned by a
nonresident may not be operated by a person anywhere in
Montana unless a nonresident temporary-use permit is obtained.
North Dakota residents are exempt. Permits are good for one
calendar year, cost $35 and can be purchased from local vendors
(stateparks.mt.gov/recreation/ohvProgram.html, OHV Permits and
Laws), at FWP offices or online at app.mt.gov/als. Contact Montana
State Parks OHV Program at 406-444-3750.

Outfitters and Guides
(MCA 37-47-301)

A person may not act as an outfitter or guide or advertise or otherwise
represent to the public that the person is an outfitter or guide without
first securing a license.

« It is unlawful to engage in outfitting/guiding while not licensed.

* It is unlawful to hire an outfitter or guide not licensed by the
Department of Labor and Industry. For information, call 406-841-
2300.

Possession of Wildlife Parts
(MCA 87-6-202, 87-3-315, 87-3-145, and ARM 12.3.186)

Individuals may possess, transport, sell, or purchase naturally shed
antlers, or the antlers with a skull or portion of a skull attached from
animals that have died from natural causes and that have not been
unlawfully killed. Carcasses and parts of elk, deer, antelope and
moose killed in vehicular collisions may be taken and possessed but
only with a Vehicle-Killed Wildlife Salvage Permit. No other game
animals may be salvaged by this permit. A person may recover and
possess the horn or horns and attached skull, or portion thereof, of a
mountain sheep that died of natural causes and was not purposefully
or accidentally killed, captured, or taken, including due to being
struck by a vehicle. Horns and skulls recovered must be reported to
the department within 48 hours and presented to the department
for inspection and placement of a permanent pin in a horn within 10
days. The fee for the pinis $25. Horns and skulls found in state parks
may not be recovered or possessed.

Public Roadways (MCA 87-6-403)
It is unlawful for anyone to hunt or attempt to hunt any game animal:
on, from, or across any public highway or the shoulder, berm, barrow
pit or right-of-way of any public highway (the entire width between
the boundary lines of every publicly maintained way when any part
thereof is open to the use of the public for purposes of vehicular
travel).

Recorded Animal Sounds
(MCA 87-6-401)
It is unlawful to use any recorded or electrically amplified bird or
animal calls or sounds or imitations of bird or animal calls or sounds
to assist in the hunting, taking, killing or capturing of any wildlife
except predatory animals, wolves, and those birds not protected by
state or federal law.

Restitution for Unlawfully Taken Wildlife (MCA 87-6-906, CR)

Under Montana law, a person convicted, or who was charged and
forfeited bond or bail, of unlawfully killing, taking, or possessing game
animals shall reimburse the state.

Sale of Game Animals (MCA 87-6-206)
A person may not purposely or knowingly sell, purchase, or exchange
all or part of any game fish, bird, game animals, or fur-bearing animals,
except that a person may sell, purchase, or exchange:

- Hides, heads, or mounts of game fish, birds, game animals, or
fur-bearing animals that have been lawfully killed, captured, or
taken, except that the sale or purchase of a hide, head, or mount
of a grizzly bear is prohibited, except as provided by federal law.

- Naturally shed antlers or the antlers with a skull or portion of a skull
attached from a game animal that has died from natural causes
and that has not been unlawfully killed, captured, or taken or
accidentally killed; for additional exceptions, see 87-6-206 MCA.
Sale of meat is not allowed.

Simulated Wildlife (MCA 87-6-217)
It is unlawful to discharge a firearm or other hunting implement at
a simulated wildlife decoy in violation of any state statute, ARM, or
F&W Commission rule regulating the hunting of the wildlife being
simulated.

Transport of Wildlife

* An individual other than the license holder may transport lawfully
taken, properly tagged game animals that comply with the
“Evidence of Sex Requirements.”

« It is unlawful to ship, possess, transport, or take out of state
unlawfully killed game animals.

* It is a violation of the Federal Lacey Act to transport an unlawfully
taken game animal across state boundaries.

« If you are transporting lawfully taken wildlife (including parts and/or
products of live or dead animals) between the United States and any
foreign country, you must complete a U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
declaration form. For further information, contact the USFWS
wildlife inspector at 406-335-4350 or www.fws.gov.

* Questions concerning carcass transport may be directed to FWP
Enforcement at 406-444-2452 or to your home state’s wildlife
division.

Traps (MCA 87-6-601)

Itis unlawful to destroy, disturb, or remove any trap or snare belonging
to another person or remove wildlife from a trap or snare belonging
to another person.

Two-way Communication
(ARM 12.6.1010)

The use of two-way electronic communication is prohibited:

* While in the act of hunting game animals or wolves to aid in the
taking or locating of live animals.

* While in the act of hunting mountain lion or bobcats with dogs,
beginning when the dogs are placed or physically released on
tracks or a scent trail.

* To avoid game check stations or FWP enforcement personnel.

* To facilitate unlawful hunting activity.

The use of two-way electronic communication for the use of safety

or other legitimate purposes is exempt.

Two-way electronic communication includes, but is not limited to, the

following; radios (walkie-talkies/CB), cell phones, text messages, and

the use of social media or other electronic platforms, applications,
or programs.

Unmanned Aerial Vehicles UAV (CR)

It is unlawful for a person to use an UAV/drone for the purposes of
concentrating, pursuing, driving, rallying, or stirring up any game
animal. A UAV/drone may not be used to locate game animals for the
purposes of: hunting those animals during the same hunting day after
a UAV/drone has been airborne, or providing information for another
person for the purposes of; hunting those animals within the same
hunting day after the UAV/drone has been airborne. UAVs/drones are
not allowed to film a hunt.

Waste of Game (MCA 87-6-205)

* Hunters, or persons in possession of a game animal or game animal parts,
are prohibited from wasting or rendering unfit for human consumption,
any part of a game animal that is defined as “suitable for food.”

* For game animals (excluding mountain lions), all of the four quarters
above the hock, including loin and backstrap, are considered suitable
for food.
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Bison Regulations

Mandatory Reporting: Successful bison hunters must report their harvested bison within 48 hours by calling 1-877-FWP-WILD
(1-877-397-9453) or 406-444-0356.

LPT Number of Licenses Season Dates Opportunity | Opportunity specific details and/or restrictions

HD 385 Gardiner Basin Portion AND Absaroka Beartooth Portion
(wilderness north of Yellowstone National Park including the upper portions of the Hellroaring and Slough Creek drainages).

NOTE: The Absaroka-Beartooth portion is a very remote wilderness accessible only by foot or horse. Retrieving a harvested bison will
present an extraordinary challenge. A mature bull bison can weigh 2,000 pounds and yield 800 pounds of meat. Hunters must be prepared
to pack out this amount of meat, as well as the head and hide if desired, and to care for the meat properly in order to avoid spoilage. It is
not recommended that hunters attempt this hunt without a string of pack-animals capable of this task and several additional people to
assist with processing the harvested animal.

385-20 40 Licenses Nov 15 - Feb 15 Either Sex
. . Only valid in the Absaroka Beartooth portion of the HD. This is a
385-21 5 Licesnes Sep 15 - Nov 14 Either Sex wilderness backcountry hunt.
Second Choice only license. A bison hunter list will be created
from a random drawing of all second choice applicants for HD
Opportunity = 385. Hunters may or may not be activated based upon bison
. will var presence. A list will be developed from these choices in the
385-77 Bison Hunt Roster  Nov 15 - Feb 15 based 03;1 sequence drawn and may be used to issue either a bison cow
need or calf license during the general bison season, depending on

migration, or bison damage/management
hunts as needed.

HD 395 Madison Watershed Portion AND Gallatin Watershed Portion.
NOTE: The Gallatin Watershed Portion of Bison HD 395 is CLOSED TO HUNTING. See map, legal descriptions and hunting closures in the legal

descriptions in these regulations.

395-20 40 Licenses Nov 15 - Feb 15 Either Sex
Opportunity
i . ) will vary
395-77 Bison Hunt Roster Nov 15 - Feb 15 based on
need

Second Choice only license. A bison hunter list will be created
from a random drawing of all second choice applicants for HD
395. Hunters may or may not be activated based upon bison
presence. A list will be developed from these choices in the
sequence drawn and may be used to issue either a bison cow
or calf license during the general bison season, depending on
migration, or bison damage/management

hunts as needed.

Common Sense Precautions When Field-Dressing Big Game

* To minimize risk of disease or parasite transmission to humans,
follow these proper ways to handle wild meat:

- Consider every bison to be potentially infected. The results of
blood tests show that about 50 percent of the bison are exposed
to brucellosis.

- Always wear protective gloves when dressing carcasses or
handling viscera.

- Minimize contact with animal fluids, brain and spinal tissues.
- Avoid contact with milk or material from the reproductive tract.

- Avoid touching your eyes, nose or mouth until you have scrubbed
after handling the animal.

- Individuals with open sores or cuts on their hands should be
especially careful.

- Discard organ meats.
- Wash hands and instruments thoroughly after field dressing or
processing.
* To minimize risk of disease or parasite transmission to your domestic
dog, prevent consumption of big game viscera.

Information and Recommendations

« Bison can achieve a live weight of up to 2,000 pounds, and can be
very difficult for the average person to field dress alone. Participants
should bring several people with them, or hire an outfitter to assist
with the field dressing and handling of their bison. If participants
plan to field dress and load their own animal, axes, knives, saws, and
block and tackle may be necessary.

* Due to the bison’s immense size and thick hide, palatable meat may
spoil quickly without immediate and proper care. It is recommended
that bison be skinned and quartered within five hours of the kill. The
hide should not be left on the bison overnight, even if it is hanging.

Brucellosis

*Bison in Yellowstone National Park carry bacteria that cause a
disease known as brucellosis or Bang’s disease. Brucellosis in
Yellowstone National Park bison is one of the primary reasons that
attempts are being made to control bison in Montana.

* Brucellosis in bison is caused by a bacterium that can also infect
humans. In humans, brucellosis is called undulant fever. Symptoms
include intermittent fever, chills, night sweats, body aches, poor
appetite and weakness. If undulant fever is treated early, it is fairly
easy to cure. However, if the disease reaches a chronic stage, treatment
is difficult.

*In bison, the bacteria is concentrated in the lymph nodes,
reproductive organs and the udder. Cooking destroys bacteria that
may be present in the meat. Thus, when thoroughly cooked, the
meat is safe to eat.

Visit fwp.mt.gov 5



Hunter Access

Hunters, it is your responsibility to know where you are, to know who

owns the land, and to know what access restrictions apply. Check

FWP’s website at fwp.mt.gov/hunting/hunterAccess for information

on FWP’s Block Management Program.

Bison Specific Lands Information

*Hunting is allowed on public land. State-licensed hunting is also
allowed on private land with landowner permission.

*Hunting is subject to emergency closure in the event it becomes
necessary to allow for hazing under the Interagency Bison
Management Plan.

« Closure area to protect eagle-nesting sites on National Forest System
Lands on Horse Butte Peninsula as posted from Dec. 1to Aug. 15.

Federal Land Access

» National Parks Service: National Parks are closed to hunting. For
other lands administered by the National Park Service, please
contact the specific site managers for additional information.

» National Wildlife Refuges - More restrictive regulations, including
species specific restrictions and closures, may apply to national
wildlife refuges open to public hunting. Contact the specific refuge
and/or visit fws.gov/refuges for additional information.

» U.S. Forest Service: Area-specific closures or restrictions may apply.
Inquire at the appropriate Regional Forest Service Office.

* Bureau of Land Management: Area-specific closures or restrictions
may apply. Inquire at the appropriate BLM Field Office.

 Other federal lands: Area-specific closures or restrictions may apply.
Inquire at the local federal land management agency office.

Unlawful Posting of State or Federal Land (MCA 45-8-115) It is
unlawful for a person to knowingly post land that is under the
ownership or control of the state or federal government to restrict
access or use of state or federal land.

Private Lands- See landowner permission.
State School Trust Lands
* A Conservation License provides hunters, anglers and trappers
access to lawfully accessible State School Trust lands.
» Overnight (2-night) camping is allowed within 200 feet of a lawful
access point.

* Motorized travel is only allowed on public roads or on roads
designated as open.

* Firearms may not be discharged within one-quarter mile of inhabited
dwellings or outbuildings on state trust lands without permission
of the inhabitant.

* Game retrieval is by foot or horse only.
* No open fires are allowed except in designated campground fire pits.

* Additional information is available from FWP, or contact DNRC at
(406) 444-2074.

Bison Hunt Legal Descriptions
The following areas are open to bison hunting for the 2020 season.

Restricted Area: No hunting within the city limits of West Yellowstone,
no hunting within the fenced boundary of the West Yellowstone
airport and closure area to protect eagle-nesting sites on National
Forest System Lands on Horse Butte Peninsula as posted from Dec.
1to Aug. 15.

HUNTING DISTRICT 385:

Gardiner Basin Portion - Beginning at the boundary intersection of
Yellowstone National Park and the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness just
east of Gardiner, then northerly and westerly along said Wilderness
boundary to USFS Trail #64 near the Bear Creek campground, then
northerly along said trail to the intersection with USFS Trail #62, then
northwesterly along USFS Trail #62 to the watershed divide east of
Monitor Peak, then northwesterly along the watershed divide over
Monitor Peak to Red Mountain, then southwesterly along the watershed
divide to Dome Mountain, then southwesterly in a direct line to the
bison-resistant cattle guard across U.S. HWY 89 in Yankee Jim Canyon,
then southerly in a direct line to crest of watershed divide between
Sphinx Creek and Tom Miner Creek Basin, then southerly along the
watershed divide over Black Mountain to the boundary of Yellowstone
National Park at Shooting Star Mountain, then generally east along
the Yellowstone National Park boundary to the boundary intersection
of Yellowstone National Park and the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness
just east of Gardiner, the point of beginning.

NOTE: Gardiner Hunting Closure - Closed to all hunting; Beginning at
the Junction of U.S. Hwy 89 and Little Trail Creek, then up Little Trail
Creek to the posted line (approx. 1/2 mile above U.S. Hwy 89), then
southeasterly along said line to the Travertine-Trail Creek Road, then
easterly along said road to its intersection with the Gardiner-Jardine
Road, then northeasterly along said road to Eagle Creek, then southerly
down said creek to the Yellowstone National Park boundary, then
westerly along said boundary to the intersection with Stevens Creek,
then northeasterly in a straight line to the intersection with U.S. Hwy
89, then northwesterly along said highway to the junction of Little Trail
Creek, the point of beginning.

AND

Absaroka Beartooth Portion - (wilderness north of Yellowstone
National Park including the upper portions of the Hellroaring and
Slough Creek drainages) - The entire Hellroaring, Buffalo Fork, and
Slough Creek drainages north of Yellowstone National Park.

HUNTING DISTRICT 395:

Gallatin Watershed Portion - Closed to hunting; Those portions of
Gallatin and Madison Counties lying within the following described
boundary: Beginning at the intersection of Buck Creek and the Gallatin
River, then up Buck Creek to the Madison-Gallatin Rivers divide, then
south and east along said divide to the Yellowstone National Park
boundary, then northerly along said boundary to its intersection with
the Gallatin-Yellowstone Rivers divide, then in a northerly direction
along said divide to Eaglehead Mountain, then in a westerly and
northerly direction along the Portal Creek-Porcupine Creek divide and
along the Porcupine Creek-Levenski Creek divide to the Gallatin River
near the mouth of the West Fork of the Gallatin River, then southerly
up the Gallatin River to Buck Creek, the point of beginning.

AND

Madison Watershed Portion - Those portions of Gallatin County lying
within the following-described boundary: Beginning where the western
boundary of Yellowstone National Park intersects the Montana-ldaho
border, then northerly along the Yellowstone National Park boundary
to the Gallatin-Madison Rivers watershed divide, then northwesterly
along said divide to the headwaters of Beaver Creek, then south along
Beaver Creek to its confluence with Earthquake Lake, then along the
south shore of Quake Lake and Hebgen Lake to the South Fork of the
Madison River, then southerly and easterly along the west shore of
said river to Forest Road 478, then southwest along Forest Road 478
to Reas Pass at the border of ldaho, then south and east along the
Montana-ldaho border to the point of the beginning.
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HOW TO HUNT
SAFELY IN
Bear Country

Tips on how to prepare for safe outings.

* Inquire about recent bear activity in the area.

» Carry and know how to use bear spray.

* Let someone know your plans and time frame.

« Travel in groups of three or more people when possible.

« Stay on trails or rural roads.

« Watch for signs of bears such as bear scat, diggings,
torn-up logs and turned over rocks, and partly
consumed animal carcasses.

»  Make your presence known by making noise - talking,
singing, carrying a bell - especially when near streams or
in thick forest where visibility is low. This can be the key
to avoiding encounters. Most bears will avoid humans
when they know humans are present.

« Don't approach a bear; respect its space and move off.

Hunters

Bears have expanded to areas where they previously may not have not been. They can now be found
throughout Western and Central Montana.

Be aware that the act of hunting puts vou at risk of encountering bears and that elk bugling, game calls and
cover scents may attract bears.

When hunting, the golden rule is “get the elk or deer out of the area as quickly as possible.” The longer a
carcass remains lying on the ground, hung up in hunting camp, or in the back of a truck, the more likely it
will be discovered by a bear. The sooner elk and deer are taken home the better.

If you must leave the carcass, hang it, in pieces if necessary, at least 10' above the ground. Leave the
carcass where you can see it from a distance, and when you return, observe the carcass with
binoculars before approaching. If a bear has claimed the carcass, leave the area and report the
incident to the proper authorities. It's not worth risking your safety or the bear's safety.

Bears are opportunists and change their behavior in order to take advantage of new food
sources. So if you are hunting always assume that bears are in the area and make sure
your camps, cabins and homes are bear proof, and that bear attractants are unavailable
or contained.

Visit fwp.mt.gov 7



2020 Sunrise-Sunset Tables for Determining Hunting Hours

These tables, including adjustments for daylight savings time, are the
official sunrise-sunset tables adopted by the Montana Fish & Wildlife
Commission for hunting in Montana. Authorized hunting hours for the
taking of bison begin one-half hour before sunrise and end one-half hour
after sunset each day of the hunting season. (Do not use other sources).

Contacts

Bison hunt information is available by calling 1-406-577-7889.

ZONE 2
INCLUDES: Beaverhead, Broadwater, Cascade, Chouteau, Deer Lodge, Gallatin,
Glacier, Hill, Jefferson, Lewis & Clark, Liberty, Madison, Meagher, Park, Pondera,
Powell, Silver Bow, Teton and Toole Counties.
Sept Oct Nov Dec Jan Feb

Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set
Day AM. PM. AM. PM. AM. PM. AM. PM. AM. PM. AM. PM.
01 6:49 8:06 7:28 7:.07 711 512 752 4:42 812 4:52 T7:51 533
02 650 804 7:29 7.05 7:12 510 754 442 812 453 750 534
03 6:51 802 7:30 7:.03 7:14 5:.09 7:55 4:42 812 4:54 749 536
04 6:53 800 7:32 7:.01 7:15 5:.08 7:56 4:41 812 4:55 748 537
05 654 7:58 T7:33 6:59 T7:17 5:.06 757 441 812 456 7:46 5:39
06 6:55 7:56 7:34 6:57 T7:18 5,05 7:58 441 812 457 7:45 540
07 6:57 7:54 T7:36 6:55 7:20 5:04 7:59 441 811 4:58 743 542
08 6:58 7:52 7:37 6:53 7:21 5:.02 8:.00 441 811 4:59 742 543
09 659 7:50 7:38 6:51 7:22 5,01 801 441 811 500 7:40 545
10 7.00 748 7:40 649 7224 500 802 441 810 502 7:39 546
11 7:02 746 741 648 7:25 4:59 8.03 441 810 503 7:37 548
12 7.03 744 742 646 727 457 8.04 441 809 504 7:36 549
13 7.04 742 744 644 728 456 8.04 441 8.09 505 7:34 551
14  7.05 740 745 642 7:30 455 805 441 808 507 7:33 552
15 7.07 7:38 747 640 7:31 454 806 441 808 508 7:31 554
16 7.08 7:36 7:48 6:38 7:33 453 8:.07 441 807 509 7:30 5:55
17  7.09 7:34 749 6:37 7:34 452 807 442 806 511 7:28 557
18 711 7:32 751 6:35 7:35 451 8.08 442 806 512 7:26 558
19 712 7:30 752 6:33 7:37 450 8:09 443 805 513 7:25 6:00
20 713 7:28 7:54 6:31 7:38 4:49 8:.09 4:43 8:04 515 7:23 6:01
21 714 7:26 755 6:30 740 448 810 444 803 516 7:21 6:.03
22 716 724 756 6:28 741 448 810 444 802 518 7:19 6:.04
23 717 722 758 6:26 742 447 811 445 801 519 7:18 6:06
24 718 720 759 6:24 744 446 811 445 800 521 7:16 6:07
25 720 719 801 6:23 745 445 811 446 759 522 714 6:.09
26 721 717 802 6:21 746 445 812 447 758 524 712 6:10
27 722 715 8:.04 6:20 747 444 812 447 757 525 710 6:12
28 724 713 8.05 6:18 749 4:44 812 448 756 527 7.09 6:13
29 725 711 806 6:16 7:50 4:43 812 4:49 755 5:28
30 7:26 7:09 808 6:15 7:51 443 812 450 7:54 5:30
31 8.09 6:13 8:12 4:51 T7:53 5:31

Bison Hunt
Information

1-406-577-7889

Mandatory Harvest
Reporting
1-877-FWP-WILD

1,500 copies of this public document were published at an
estimated cost of $0.136 per copy, for a total estimated cost of $1,850.41,
which includes $204.00 for printing and $1,646.41 for distribution.

Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks State Headquarters
1420 East 6th Avenue, PO Box 200701,

Helena, MT 59620-0701.......ccccoeeerverreverrereencenenens 406-444-2535
Harvest Reporting ............ 1-877-FWP-WILD (1-877-397-9453)
or 406-444-0356

Hunter EAUCAtION......c.ovcvceeeceeeeeeeeeeee e 406-444-9948

Wildlife DIVISION ....ocvieeeiriecrisiriereereeessesesessessessesssaesns 406-444-2612

Enforcement DiViSiON ........cocoevvvecveeeeveeeeeseeeeeeesenene 406-444-2452
Parks Division (Montana State Parks) .................. 406-444-3750
Special AraWingsS......cccevveeeiieieeeeseeseeeessereesesssesseneas 406-444-2950
[ Te=Y g 1Y 1T OO 406-444-2535
Hearing Impaired (use Montana Relay)...7-1-1 or 1-800-253-4091

MONTANA FISH, WILDLIFE & PARKS REGIONAL HEADQUARTERS

REGION 4

4600 Giant Springs Rd
Great Falls, MT 59405
(406) 454-5840

LEWISTOWN Area Res Office
(LARO)

333 Airport Rd, Ste. 1
Lewistown, MT 59457

(406) 538-4658

REGION 1

490 N Meridian Rd
Kalispell, MT 59901
(406) 752-5501 REGION 5

2300 Lake Elmo Dr
Billings, MT 59105
(406) 247-2940

REGION 2
3201 Spurgin Rd
Missoula, MT 59804

(406) 542-5500 REGION 6

1 Airport Rd
REGION 3 Glasgow, MT 59230
1400 South 19th Ave (406) 228-3700

Bozeman, MT 59718
(406) 577-7900 HAVRE Area Res Office
(HVARO)

2165 Hwy 2 E

Havre, MT 59501

(406) 265-6177

HELENA Area Res Office (HARO)
930 Custer Ave W

Helena, MT 59620

(406) 495-3260

REGION 7
BUTTE Area Res Office (BARO) 352 1-94 Business Loop
1820 Meadowlark Ln PO Box 1630

Butte, MT 59701
(406) 494-1953

Miles City, MT 59301
(406)234-0900

CONTACTS OUTSIDE FISH, WILDLIFE & PARKS

Montana State Agencies Land Maps
Agriculture Bureau of Land Management
406-444-3144 406-896-5000
Guides & Outfitters Topographical (USGS)
406-841-2300 888-275-8747

L'Vis(ggfz 447323 Trigfll Gk?vernments .
State Lands (DNRC) ackfeet Reservation
406-338-7276
406-444-2074 :
Tourism Crow Reservation
406-638-2179
Flathead Reservation
406-883-2888
ext 7200 or 7273
Fort Belknap
406-353-2205
Fort Peck Reservation
406-768-5305
Northern Cheyenne Reservation
406-477-6526
Rocky Boy Reservation
406-395-4207

406-841-2870

Federal Agencies

US Department of Interior
202-208-3100

US Fish & Wildlife Service
406-449-5225

US Forest Service
406-329-3511

Bureau of Land Management
406-896-5000

National Weather Service
406-329-4840 (Missoula)
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