UPLAND GAME BIRD

FWP Montana Hunting Regulations

Sharp-tailed Grouse | Tympanuchus phasianellus
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Regulations Adopted by
Fish & Wildlife Commission

Regulations for season dates, structures,
and restrictions were adopted by the
F&W Commission on February 13, 2020,
under the authority granted in MCA
87-1-301 and are valid March 1, 2020,
through February 28, 2021. Final bag
limits and quotas were adopted by the
F&W Commission on June 25, 2020. The
F&W Commission reserves the authority
to amend the seasons, limits and
regulations herein if deemed necessary
for wildlife management purposes.
Statutes and other information,
including other agencies’ restrictions,
are provided as a courtesy and do not
fall under Commission authority. Martha
Williams, Director.

Discrimination Prohibited - State and
Federal laws, Title VI of Civil Rights Act of
1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation
Act of 1973, Title Il of the Americans
with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age
Discrimination Act of 1975, and Title IX
of the Education Amendments of 1972,
prohibit discrimination on the basis of
race, color, sex, age, religion, national
origin, or disability. Anyone believing he
or she has been discriminated against
(as described above) in any FWP
program, activity, or facility may write
to FWP Human Resources, 1420 East
Sixth Avenue, PO Box 200701, Helena,
MT 59620-0701 or the office of Equal
Opportunity, U.S. Department of the
Interior, Washington, D.C. 20240.

Reminders for 2020

« Turkey regulations are now only in the
“Spring & Fall Turkey Regulations.”

Youth Only
Special Pheasant Weekend

September 26-27, 2020 - Statewide
The F&W Commission is allowing two
additional days to provide a special
hunting opportunity to encourage
youth participation in pheasant
hunting. Legally licensed youth ages
15 and under may hunt pheasants
statewide on these days. A non-
hunting adult at least 18 years of age
must accompany the youth hunter
in the field. Mentors for Apprentice
Hunters must be at least 21 years of
age. The bag limit, shooting hours,
hunter safety requirements and all
other regulations that apply to the
regular pheasant season shall apply
to this special season.

Obtain A License Or Permit

(MCA 87-2-184; 87-2-704)

Licenses are available at all Fish, Wildlife &
Parks offices, license providers throughout
the state and online at fwp.mt.gov. The
license is valid March 1 through February
28 of the following year.

Residency (MCA 87-6-302)

* It is unlawful to swear to or to affirm
a false statement in order to obtain
an original or replacement resident
hunting and/or fishing license OR
to assist an unqualified applicant in
obtaining a resident license.

Resident (MCA 87-2-102)

* To be a lawful Montana resident and
eligible to purchase any Montana
resident fishing, hunting, and trapping
licenses, you must:
- have been physically living in
Montana for at least 180 consecutive
days immediately prior to purchasing
a resident license;
- register your vehicle(s) in Montana;
- be registered to vote in Montana if
you’re registered to vote at all;
- not possess (or have applied for any)
current resident hunting, fishing, or
trapping privileges in another state
or country;
- file Montana state income tax returns
as a resident, if you are required to
file.
- Once you have established your
residency, you must continue to meet
all these requirements and physically
reside in Montana as your principal or
primary place of abode for not less
than 120 days per year (days need
not be consecutive).
- A person is NOT considered a
resident for the purposes of this
section if the person:
> claims residence in any other state
or country for any purpose; or

>is an absentee property owner
paying property tax on property in
Montana.

*To purchase an annual resident
Conservation License you will be
required to show a valid Montana
Driver’s License (MDL), a valid Montana
Identification Card (MIC), or a valid
Tribal Identification Card (TIC).

« If your MDL or MIC was issued less than
six months ago, you may be required
to show additional proof of residency.
An out-of-state driver’s license is NOT
an acceptable form of ID for resident
license purchases. Contact your local
FWP office for specifics.

2 Turn In Poachers. Enough is Enough! Make the call: 1-800-847-6668

Hunter Education Requirements

(MCA 87-2-105)

If you were born after January 1, 1985, you
are required to show proof of completing
a Montana hunter safety and education
course or an approved hunter safety
course from any other state or province
prior to applying for or purchasing a
hunting license, whether the hunting
license is for the rifle or archery season.

Licensing Youth Hunting Opportunities

A resident or nonresident youth 12
years of age or older may hunt any
game species for which their license is
valid. Those who will reach 12 years of
age by January 16, 2021, may hunt any
game species, for which their license is
valid, after August 15 of the 2020 license
year. Proof of hunter education must be
presented at the time of purchase.

An Apprentice Hunter is a resident or
nonresident at least 10 years of age,
certified at an FWP office. This allows the
apprentice to hunt some species, while
accompanied by a mentor, without first
completing a hunter education course.
The Apprentice Hunter may not purchase
amountain lion, black bear or wolf license
or apply for a bighorn sheep license or a
hunting license or permit with a limited
quota. The Apprentice Hunter may not
purchase an elk license if he/she is under
15 years of age. Other restrictions apply.
See our website for details:
fwp.mt.gov/hunting/licenses/all/
apprenticeHunter/default.html

In order to carry or use a firearm for
any reason, a youth under 14 years of
age must be accompanied by a person
having charge or custody of the youth,
or be under the supervision of a qualified
firearms safety instructor or an adult
18 years of age or older who has been
authorized by the youth’s parent or
guardian, MCA 45-8-344.

Hunters with a Disability

If you or someone you know has a
disability and/or is aging, and is in need
of assistive technology (AT) or adaptive
equipment to help you participate in
outdoor recreation, please contact:

MonTech at the University of
Montana Rural Institute,

29 McGill Hall,
Missoula, MT 5982
(406) 243-5751
montech.ruralinstitute.utm.edu/




Cost/Stipulation(s)

e Resident

Nonresident

$10

$15

Base Hunting
License

Required prerequisite for hunting or applying for a permit or

license.

Conservation

$4 Ages 12-17, 62
$8 Ages 18-61 years

$10

Required prerequisite

$7.50 Ages 18 - 61

$110 Ages 18 and over

Upland
Game Bird $3.75 Ages 1217, o
Senior (62+) or Disabled $55 Ages 12-17
$6.50 Residents must $57.50 with an Upland
Turke have an Upland Game Game Bird License, OR
y Bird License to purchase $115 without an Upland
a Turkey License. Game Bird License.
$50: 3-day license for non-
3-day Upland residents. The license is not valid
Game Bird - for sage grouse at any time or for
License ring-neck pheasants during the

opening week of the season.

3-day Shooting
Preserve License

$20: Alternative to an Upland Game
Bird License for non-residents who
wish to hunt only on Shooting
Preserves (Private).

Resident
Flathead
Reservation
Use Permit

A valid “Resident of the Flathead Reservation Use Permit”
with a valid Flathead Reservation Bird Stamp will be honored
by the state wherever hunting for upland or migratory game
birds is lawful in Montana. Check with Flathead Reservation at
406-675-2700 ext 7200 for details.

for license requirements.

* Some 10 and 11 year olds are also eligible. See Youth Hunting Opportunities

-Statute denoted by MCA.
-Commission Rule denoted by CR.

Aerial Spotting (MCA 87-6-208)

* It is unlawful for a person to shoot a
game bird from an aircraft.

* |t is unlawful for a person to use an
aircraft for the purpose of concentrating,
pursuing, driving, rallying, or stirring up
any game bird.

Artificial Light (MCA 87-6-401)

It is unlawful for anyone to take or

attempt to take any game bird with the

aid of projected artificial light. Use of rifle
scopes that project an artificial light to
illuminate the target or project infrared
light visible only with specialized optics
to illuminate the target are unlawful for
the taking of game birds.

Baiting (CR)

* |t is unlawful for anyone to hunt or
attempt to hunt by the aid of or with
the use of any bait, salt lick, trap, snare
or set gun.

« Baiting means the placing, exposing,
depositing, distributing, or scattering of

food sources or salt so as to constitute a
lure or attraction.

Check Stations (MCA 87-6-218)

All hunters are required by law to stop as
directed at all designated check stations
on their way to and from hunting areas,
even if they have no game to be checked.

Hunter Orange

Shooting another hunter while swinging
the gun on an upland bird is the leading
cause of hunting-related accidents in
Montana. Although not required, it is
strongly recommended that all bird
hunters wear at least a hunter orange
hat or cap to reduce the chance of an
accident.

Hunting Hours (CR)

Authorized hunting hours for the taking
of upland game birds begin one-half
hour before sunrise and end one-half
hour after sunset each day of the hunting
season. See official sunrise-sunset tables
in these regulations.

Inspection of Wildlife

(MCA 87-1-502)

Wildlife taken must be shown to FWP
Enforcement for inspection when
requested.

Landowner Permission
(MCA 87-6-415)

A resident or nonresident shall obtain
permission of the landowner, the
lessee, or their agents before taking or
attempting to take furbearing animals,
game animals, migratory game birds,
nongame wildlife, predatory animals,
upland game birds, or wolves while
hunting on private property.

* Evenif the land is not posted, hunters
must have permission from the
land owner, lessee, or their agent
before hunting on private property,
regardless of whether the land is
posted or not.

» Access to public land through private
land requires permission of the private
land owner, lessee, or their agent.

* Retrieval of all wildlife through private
land requires permission of the private
landowner, lessee, or their agent.

License and Permit Possession/Use
(MCA 87-6-304)
It is unlawful to:

* Hunt or attempt to hunt for any game
bird unless the person is carrying the
required license or permit at the time.

* Refuse to produce a license or

permit and the identification used

in purchasing a license or permit for

inspection to a game warden.

Alter or change a license in any material

manner.

* Loan or transfer any license to another
person.

* Use a license issued to another person.

Attach the person’s license to a game
bird killed by another person.

* Have physical control over a valid
and unused hunting license or permit
issued to another person while in any
location that the species to be hunted
may inhabit. This prohibition does not
apply to a person who is carrying or
has physical control over a license or
permit issued to that person’s spouse
or to any minor when the spouse or
minor is hunting with that person.

Littering (MCA 75-10-212)

A holder of a Montana resident or
nonresident hunting license or
camping permit convicted of littering
campgrounds, public or private lands,
streams, or lakes, while hunting, fishing,
or camping shall forfeit any current
Montana hunting, fishing, or trapping
license and the privilege to hunt, fish,
camp, or trap in Montana for a period of
one year.



Means of Take (CR)

Upland Game Birds may only be taken by
hunting (firearms, archery or falconry).
See individual species regulations for
species specific restrictions.

Motorized Vehicles (MCA 87-6-405)
It is unlawful for anyone to:

* Hunt or attempt to hunt any game bird
from any self propelled (motorized) or
drawn vehicle. To be lawful, a hunter
must have two feet on the ground and
his/her body outside of the vehicle.
Holders of the Permit To Hunt From
A Vehicle (PTHFV) are the exception
to this.

» Use a motorized vehicle or aircraft to
concentrate, drive, rally, stir-up, corral,
or harass game birds.

» Operate on public lands a motorized
wheeled vehicle off legal routes
(including game retrieval). All Federally
approved travel plans on public lands
in Montana have been adopted
by the F&W Commission. Contact
the appropriate land management
agencies for travel plan information.

» Use a motor-driven vehicle on a road
or trail on state land if that road or
trail is posted as closed by the land
management agency. This restriction
applies only to state land and not to
federal land.

» Use a motor-driven vehicle other than
on aroad or trail designated for travel
by a landowner unless permission has
been given by that landowner.

*Use a powerboat, sailboat, or any
boat under sail or any floating device
towed by a powerboat, sailboat, or
any boat under sail for the purpose
of killing, capturing, taking, pursuing,
concentrating, driving, or stirring up
any game bird.

Nontoxic Shot

Hunters are reminded that nontoxic
shot is required for the hunting of
upland game birds on federal refuges
or waterfowl production areas. Only
federally-approved nontoxic shot may be
used on these areas. Specific questions
regarding this regulation should be made
through local offices of the U.S. Fish &
Wildlife Service.

Outfitters and Guides

(MCA 37-47-301)

* A person may not act as an outfitter
or guide or advertise or otherwise
represent to the public that the person
is an outfitter or guide without first
securing a license.

* |t is unlawful to engage in outfitting/
guiding while not licensed.

« |t is unlawful to hire an outfitter or
guide not licensed by the Department
of Labor and Industry. For information,
call 406-841-2300.

Possession Limit while in the Field
(CR)
No person shall possess more than one
daily bag limit while in the field, or while
returning from the field to one’s vehicle,
hunting camp, home, etc.

Possession Limit (CR)

The number of birds that may be
possessed at any time in any form: fresh,
stored in freezers or lockers, salted,
smoked, dried, canned, or preserved.

Public Roadways (MCA 87-6-403)
It is unlawful for anyone to hunt or
attempt to hunt any game bird: on,
from, or across any public highway or
the shoulder, berm, barrow pit or right-
of-way of any public highway (the entire
width between the boundary lines of
every publicly maintained way when any
part thereof is open to the use of the
public for purposes of vehicular travel).

Recorded Animal Sounds

(MCA 87-6-401)

It is unlawful to use any recorded or
electrically amplified bird or animal calls
or sounds or imitations of bird or animal
calls or sounds to assist in the hunting,
taking, killing or capturing of any wildlife
except predatory animals, wolves, and
those birds not protected by State or
Federal law.

Shooting Preserves (Private)

(MCA 87-4-504)

To hunt upland game birds on a private
shooting preserve, resident hunters must
possess a valid upland game bird license
and nonresident hunters must possess
either a valid upland game bird license or
a 3-day shooting preserve license.

Transporting Pheasants (CR)
It is unlawful to possess or transport
within the state any pheasant unless one
leg and foot are left naturally attached
for evidence of sex. The leg and foot shall
remain attached at all times while being
transported from the place where taken
until it has arrived at the permanent
residence of the possessor.

Transporting Upland Game Birds (CR)
*No person shall transport within
the state any sage grouse, sharp-
tailed grouse, mountain grouse or
partridge unless one fully feathered
wing is left naturally attached for
species identification. The wing shall
remain attached at all times while
being transported from the place
where taken until it has arrived at the
permanent residence of the possessor.

* If a hunter puts or leaves any game
birds at any place or in the custody
of another person, the birds should
be tagged by the hunter with the
following information: 1) the hunter’s
ALS number; 2) the hunter’s signature;
3) the hunter’s address; 4) the total
number of birds involved, by species;
and 5) the dates such birds were
killed. Game birds should be tagged

if the birds are being transported by
another person for the hunter, or if
the birds have been left for cleaning,
storage (including temporary storage),
shipment or taxidermy services.
The rule does not prohibit the possession
or use of two-way communication for
safety or other legitimate purposes.

Waste of Game (MCA 87-6-205)

It is unlawful to waste any part of any
game animal, game bird, or game fish
suitable for food.

* The following are game bird parts

“suitable for food:”

- All birds that fall into the size category
of the partridge or smaller, only the
breasts must be retained.

-All birds larger than a partridge
and up to the size category of, and
including, pheasants and sage grouse,
the breasts and the thighs must be
retained.

- All turkeys: the breasts, thighs and
wings must be retained.

California and Gambel’s Quail

These non-native species are now found

throughout portions of Montana. The

Montana Fish & Wildlife Commission

has designated California and Gambel’s

quail as prohibited species, which means:

* Possession, sale, purchase, exchange,
or transport of live birds in Montana is
prohibited.

* Feral California and Gambel’s quail
may be taken without license, season,
or limit.

Eurasian Collared Doves

This non-native exotic species is now

found throughout much of Montana,

especially in and near cities and towns.

*The Montana Fish and Wildlife
Commission has designated them as
an unprotected species that may be
taken without license, season, or limit.

* They are different from a mourning
dove in that they are larger, have a
rounded tail rather than a pointed one,
and they have a black ring around the
back of the neck.

Hunters, it is your responsibility to know
where you are, to know who owns
the land, and to know what access
restrictions apply.

Block Management

The Block Management program is
a cooperative effort among private
and some public landowners, FWP,
and hunters. The program seeks to:
1) maintain public hunting access to
private and isolated public lands; 2) help
landowners manage public hunting and
provide benefits to offset impacts like
increased road maintenance and weed
control; and 3) help FWP manage wildlife.
Each FWP Region administers the Block



Management Areas (BMAs) for its portion
of the state. If you are interested in
hunting a BMA, contact the regional
office in the area you wish to hunt. The
BMA hunting access guide lists current
information on lands enrolled in the
program statewide. These are available
annually on August 15. The earliest date
to reserve access to a BMA is August 22.
Federal Land Access

* National Parks Service: National Parks
are closed to hunting. For other lands
administered by the National Park
Service, please contact the specific site
managers for additional information.
National Wildlife Refuges - More
restrictive regulations, including
species specific restrictions and
closures, may apply to national
wildlife refuges open to public hunting.
Contact the specific refuge and/or
visit fws.gov/refuges/ for additional
information.

U.S. Forest Service: Area specific
closures or restrictions may apply.
Inquire at the appropriate Regional
Forest Service Office.

Bureau of Land Management: Area
specific closures or restrictions may
apply. Inquire at the appropriate BLM
Field Office.

Other Federal lands: Area specific
closures or restrictions may apply.
Inquire at the local federal land
management agency office.

Unlawful Posting of State or Federal Land
(MCA 45-8-115): It is unlawful for a person
to knowingly post land that is under
the ownership or control of the state or
federal government to restrict access or
use of state or federal land.

Fishing Access Sites
Many of Montana’s Fishing Access
Sites (FAS) offer hunting opportunities,
however certain restrictions may apply
such as no-hunting safety zones and/
or restrictions on the type of hunting
weapon or firearm that may be used.
Refer to the Fishing Access Site website at
for site
specific information, opportunities and
restrictions.

Indian Reservations

*The State of Montana and the
Confederated Salish and Kootenai
Tribes have entered into a cooperative
management agreement on the
Flathead Indian Reservation. Please
check for upland game bird regulations
specific to the Flathead Reservation.
For information call the Kalispell FWP
office at 406-752-5501 or the Tribes
in Pablo at 406-883-2888 ext. 7200.

« State regulations apply to deeded land
within the Crow Indian Reservation.

Montana State Parks

Some of Montana’s State Parks provide
hunting opportunities; however certain
restrictions may apply such as no-
hunting safety zones and/or restrictions
on the type of hunting weapon or firearm
that may be used. Contact the specific
park and/or refer to the Montana State
Park website at

for site specific information regarding
hunting opportunities and restrictions.

Private Land Access

Montana law requires permission for
all hunting on private land. See page
4 for information on FWP’s Block
Management Program.

Railroad Access

Railroads and railroad right-of-ways are
private property and may not be hunted
without permission, nor should they be
used as access to other lands (private or
public) without explicit permission from
the railroad.

State Game Preserves
See Closed or Restricted Areas.

State School Trust Lands

A Conservation License provides
hunters, anglers and trappers access
to lawfully accessible state school
trust lands.

» Overnight (2-night) camping is allowed
within 200 feet of a lawful access point.

* Motorized travel is only allowed on
public roads or on roads designated
as open.

* Firearms may not be discharged within
one-quarter mile of inhabited dwellings
or outbuildings on state trust lands
without permission of the inhabitant.

* Game retrieval is by foot or horse only.

* No open fires are allowed except in
designated campground fire pits.

* Additional information is available
from FWP or contact DNRC at (406)
444-2074.

State Wildlife Management Areas
FWP’s Wildlife Management Areas
(WMA) are generally open to hunting
during the game animal hunting season.
WMAs with game winter range are closed
to public entry, unless otherwise posted,
from the day following the end of the
general deer-elk season or December 1,
whichever is later, to noon on May 15 each
year, as posted.

Exception: There are several exceptions
to these guidelines. For WMA specific
information, please call the Regional
office (see page 8 for contact
numbers) or visit the FWP website at:

Upland Game Bird Enhancement
Program (UGBEP)

Provides technical and financial assistance
to enhance and conserve upland game
bird habitats on lands open to public
upland game bird hunting. Partnerships
are formed between FWP and 1) private
landowners, 2) government agencies,
3) conservation organizations, or 4) a
combination of the various partners.
Hunters can order the annual Projects
Access Guide, which includes project
specifics, area maps, and the method
used to request permission to hunt
on private lands enrolled in UGBEP.
Visit to order your guide.
Obtaining landowners’ permission to
hunt upland game birds is required prior
to hunting or entering any private land
project area.

Gates of the Mountains Game Preserve:
Closed to all hunting: Beginning in
Section 2, T12N, R3W at the southeast
corner of Upper Holter Lake, then
proceeding westerly along the northern
shoreline of Upper Holter Lake in the
Gates of the Mountains area located in
Lewis and Clark County, then northerly
along Stoney Point Beacon Road, then
northerly along the powerline to said
beacon, then along Bulldozer Road to
the point of the ridge in Section 23, T13
N, R3W, then northerly to the Missouri
River, then easterly across said river
and lake to the USFS boundary to the
wilderness boundary, then south along
wilderness boundary to the southeast
corner of Section 1, TI2N, R3W, then west
back to Upper Holter Lake, the point of
beginning. Intending hereby to include
in said game preserve all the territory
adjacent of the Gates of the Mountains
area, shall be called and known as the
Gates of the Mountains Game Preserve.

Helena Valley Regulating Reservoir
(Lewis and Clark County): Open to
upland game bird hunting up to the
opening day of the waterfowl season at
which point it is closed to all hunting.

Freezout Lake Wildlife Management
Area (Teton County): Open to upland
game bird hunting until the opening
of the general waterfowl season, then
it will be closed to all hunting in the
following described portion of the
Wildlife Management Area: SW 1/4
Section 19, Sections 29 and 30, T22N,
R3W, W 1/2 Section 12, W 1/2 of E 1/2
Section 12, and that portion of Sections
13 and 24 within the posted boundary of
the Freezout Lake Wildlife Management
Area, T22N, R4W. The area closed will
reopen November 20.



Season Dates

Bag Limit

Additional Information

Mountain Grouse
Blue, Ruffed and Franklin’s Grouse may be taken with a shotgun not larger than a ten gauge; a long, recurve or compound
bow and arrow; a crossbow; or a firearm. All other means of taking are prohibited.

Sep 01 - Jan 01

Bag Limit: 3 in aggregate daily.
Possession limit is four times the

daily bag limit.

Partridge

Hungarian and Chukar Partridge may be taken with a shotgun not larger than a ten gauge; a long, recurve or compound bow
and arrow. All other means of taking are prohibited.

Sep 01 - Jan 01

Bag Limit: 8 in aggregate daily.
Possession limit is four times the
daily bag limit.

Chukar partridge occur primarily in Carbon County.

Sep 01-Jan10

Bag Limit: 8 in aggregate daily.
Possession limit is four times the
daily bag limit.

Portion of Carbon County within the following boundary: Beginning
at the junction of Route 72 and the Wyoming-Montana state line,
then northerly along said route to Bridger, then northerly along
Hwy. 310 to Edgar, then east on the Edgar-Pryor Road to the Crow
Indian Reservation boundary, then southerly and easterly along said
boundary to the west shore of Big Horn Lake, then southerly along
said shore to the Wyoming-Montana state line, then west along said
state line to its junction with Route 72, the point of beginning.

Ptarmigan

Closed

Closed

Closed

Ring-necked Pheasant

Pheasants may be taken with a shotgun not larger than a ten gauge; a long, recurve or compound bow and arrow. All other
means of taking are prohibited.

Sep 26 - Sep 27
Youth Only

Bag Limit: 3 cock pheasants daily.
Possession limit is three times the
daily bag limit.

Legally licensed youth ages 15 and under when accompanied by a
nonhunting adult at least 18 years of age. Mentors for Apprentice
Hunters must be at least 21 years of age. Transporting Pheasants: It is
unlawful to possess or transport within the state any pheasant unless
one leg and foot are left naturally attached for evidence of sex. They
shall remain attached until they arrive at the permanent residence of
the possessor.

Oct 10 - Jan 01

Bag Limit: 3 cock pheasants daily.
Possession limit is three times the
daily bag limit.

Sage Grouse

Sage Grouse may be taken with a shotgun not larger than a ten gauge; a long, recurve or compound bow and arrow. All
other means of taking are prohibited.

Sep O1- Sep 30

Bag Limit: 2 daily. Possession limit
is two times the daily bag limit.

Closed West of the Continental Divide

Sharp-tailed Grouse

Sharp-tailed Grouse may be taken with a shotgun not larger than a ten gauge; a long, recurve or compound bow and arrow.
All other means of taking are prohibited.

Sep 01 - Jan 01

Bag Limit: 4 daily. Possession
limit is four times the daily bag
limit.

Closed West of the Continental Divide

Falconry

All areas open to hunting of upland game birds and/or migratory game birds by firearms shall be open to either-sex hunting
of that species by falconry.

Sep 01 - Mar 31

Bag Limit: 2 daily in aggregate
and 6 in possession.

Bag and possession limits are not
in addition to general limits.

Falconry Hours: One-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after
sunset. Year round sunrise/sunset tables are available on the FWP
website.




2020 Sunrise-Sunset Tables For Determining Hunting Hours

game birds and falconry begin one-half hour before sunrise and end one-half hour after sunset each day of the

These tables, including adjustments for daylight savings time, are the official sunrise-sunset tables adopted by the
Montana Fish & Wildlife Commission for hunting in Montana. Authorized hunting hours for the taking of upland

hunting season. Do not use other sources.

ZONE 1
INCLUDES: Flathead, Granite, Lake, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Ravalli
and Sanders counties

Sept Oct Nov Dec Jan

Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set
Day AM.PM. AM. PM. AM. PM. AM. PM. AM. PM.
1 6:56 814 7:36 7:14 719 519 801 449 821 459
2 6:58 812 7:37 712 7221 518 802 449 821 5:.00
3 6:59 810 7:38 7:10 7:22 516 8:04 4:48 821 501
4 7:00 808 740 7:09 7:24 515 805 448 821 502
5 7:02 806 741 7:07 7:25 513 806 448 821 503
6 7:03 804 742 7:05 7:27 512 807 448 821 504
7 7.04 8:02 7:44 7:03 728 511 808 448 820 5:.05
8 7.05 800 7:45 7:.01 7:30 5:09 809 447 820 5:06
9 7.07 7.58 7:46 659 7:31 508 810 447 820 507
10 7.08 7:56 7:48 657 T7:33 507 811 447 819 509
11 7.09 754 749 655 T7:34 506 812 447 819 510
12 711 752 751 653 T7:36 504 813 447 818 51
13 712 750 7:52 651 T7:37 503 813 448 818 512
14 713 748 753 650 7:38 502 814 448 817 514
15 715 7:46 755 648 740 501 815 448 817 515
16 7:16 7:44 756 646 741 500 816 448 816 516
17 717 742 758 644 743 459 816 449 815 518
18 718 7:40 759 642 744 458 817 449 814 519
19 7:20 7:38 800 6:41 7:46 457 818 449 814 521
20 721 7:36 802 6:39 7:47 456 818 450 813 522
21 722 7:34 803 637 748 455 819 450 812 523
22 724 7:32 805 6:35 750 455 819 451 811 525
23 725 7:30 8:06 6:34 751 454 820 451 810 526
24 726 728 808 6:32 7:52 453 820 4:52 809 528
25 728 726 809 6:30 7:54 4:52 820 4:53 8:08 5:29
26 729 724 811 629 755 452 820 453 807 531
27 730 722 812 6:27 756 451 821 454 806 5:32
28 7:32 720 813 625 758 4:51 821 455 805 534
29 733 718 815 624 7:59 450 821 4:56 804 535
30 7:34 7116 816 6:222 800 450 821 457 803 537
31 8:18 6:21 821 4:58 801 538

ZONE 3

INCLUDES: Big Horn, Blaine, Carbon, Fergus, Golden Valley,

Judith Basin, Musselshell, Petroleum, Phillips, Stillwater, Sweet Grass,

Wheatland and Yellowstone counties

Sept Oct Nov Dec Jan
Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set

Day AM.PM. AM. PM. AM. PM. AM. PM. AM. PM.
1 6:38 7:56 7:17 6:56 7:01 500 7:44 430 804 4:39
2 6:39 7:54 719 6:54 T7:03 459 745 430 804 4:40
3 6:40 7:52 720 6:52 T7:04 458 746 429 804 4:42
4 6:42 750 721 6:50 7:06 456 747 429 804 4:43
5 6:43 7:48 723 648 T7:.07 455 748 429 803 4:44
6 6:44 7:46 724 646 T:09 453 749 429 803 4:45
7 6:46 7:44 726 644 710 452 750 4:28 803 4:46
8 6:47 7:42 727 642 T2 451 751 428 803 4:47
9 6:48 7:40 728 640 713 449 752 428 802 4:48
10 6:50 7:38 7:30 6:39 7:15 4:48 7:53 4:28 8:02 4:50
1 651 7:36 7:31 6:37 716 447 754 428 801 4:51
12 6:52 7:34 7:33 635 T7:18 446 755 428 801 452
13 6:54 7:32 7:34 633 719 444 756 4:28 8:00 453
14 6:55 7:30 7:35 6:31 7:21 443 757 429 800 455
15 656 7:28 7:37 629 7:22 442 757 429 759 456
16 6:57 7:26 7:38 627 724 441 758 429 758 457
17 659 7:24 740 626 7:25 440 759 429 758 459
18 7:.00 7:22 741 624 726 439 759 430 7:57 500
19 7:01 7220 7:42 622 7:28 438 800 430 7:56 5:02
20 7:03 718 744 620 7:29 4:37 801 4:31 7:55 5:03
21 T7:04 7116 745 6:18 7:31 4:36 8:.01 4:31 T7:54 5:.04
22 705 714 TA47 617 7:32 4:36 8:02 4:32 7:53 5:.06
23 707 712 748 6:15 7:33 4:35 8:.02 4:32 7:53 5:.07
24 T7:08 7110 7:50 6:13 7:35 4:34 8:.02 4:33 7:52 5:.09
25 709 7.08 751 612 7:36 433 803 4:34 750 510
26 711 7.06 7:53 6:10 7:37 4:33 8:.03 4:34 749 512
27 712 7.04 7:54 6:08 7:39 4:32 8:.03 4:35 7:48 513
28 713 7.02 7:56 6:07 7:40 4:32 8:.03 4:36 7:47 5:15
29 715 7.00 7:57 6:05 7:41 4:31 804 4:37 746 5:16
30 716 658 7:59 6:04 7:42 4:31 8:.04 4:38 T7:45 5:18
31 8:00 6:02 8:04 4:39 T:44 519

ZONE 2
INCLUDES: Beaverhead, Broadwater, Cascade, Chouteau, Deer Lodge,
Gallatin, Glacier, Hill, Jefferson, Lewis & Clark, Liberty, Madison,
Meagher, Park, Pondera, Powell, Silver Bow, Teton and Toole counties
Sept Oct Nov Dec Jan
Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set
ay AM.PM. AM. PM. AM. PM. AM. PM. AM. PM.
6:49 806 7:28 7:07 711 512 752 442 812 452
6:50 8:04 729 7:05 712 510 754 442 812 4:53
6:51 8:02 7:30 7:03 714 509 755 442 812 4:54
6:53 800 7:32 7:01 715 508 756 441 812 4:55
6:54 7:58 7:33 6:59 717 506 757 441 812 4:56
6:55 7:56 7:34 6:57 718 505 758 441 812 4:57
6:57 754 7:36 6:55 7:20 5.04 759 441 811 4:58
6:58 7:52 7:37 6:53 7:21 502 800 441 811 4:59
6:59 7:.50 7:38 6:51 7:22 501 801 441 811 5:.00
10 7.00 7:48 740 649 7:24 500 802 441 810 5:.02
11 7.02 746 741 648 T7:25 459 803 441 810 503
12 7.03 7:44 742 646 7:27 457 804 441 809 504
13 7.04 7142 744 644 T:28 456 804 441 809 505
14 7.05 740 745 642 T7:30 455 805 441 808 507
15 7.07 7:38 747 640 7:31 454 806 441 808 508
16 7.08 7:36 748 6:38 7:33 453 807 441 807 509
17 7.09 7:34 749 6:37 T7:34 452 807 442 806 5:11
18 711 7:32 751 6:35 7:35 451 808 442 806 512
19 712 730 752 6:33 7:37 450 809 443 805 513
20 713 728 754 6:31 7:38 4:49 8:.09 443 804 515
21 714 726 755 6:30 7:40 4:48 810 4:44 8:.03 5:16
22 716 724 T:56 6:28 7:41 4:48 810 4:44 8:.02 5:18
23 7T 722 758 61226 7:42 4:47 811 445 801 519
24 718 720 7:59 624 744 446 811 445 800 521
25 720 7119 8:.01 6:23 7:45 4:45 811 446 T:59 5122
26 721 717 8:.02 621 7:46 4:45 812 447 T7:58 524
27 722 715 8:04 6:20 7:47 4:44 812 447 T:57 5:25
28 724 713 8:05 6:18 7:49 4:44 812 448 T:56 527
29 725 711 8:.06 6:16 7:50 4:43 812 4:49 7:55 528
30 7:26 7.09 8:08 6:15 7:51 4:43 812 450 7:54 5:30
31 8.09 6:13 812 4:51 T7:53 531
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2020 Upland Game Birds

ZONE 4

INCLUDES: Carter, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Fallon, Garfield, McCone,
Powder River, Prairie, Richland, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sheridan,
Treasure, Valley and Wibaux counties

Sept Oct Nov Dec Jan
Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set
AM.PM. AM. PM. AM. PM. AM. PM. AM. PM.
6:24 7:41 T7.03 6:42 6:46 448 727 418 T47 4:28
6:26 7:39 7.04 6:40 6:47 446 728 418 T47 429
6:27 7:37 7.05 6:38 6:49 445 T7:29 417 T47 430
6:28 7:35 7.07 6:36 6:50 4:43 7:30 417 TA7 43
6:29 7:33 7.08 6:34 6:51 442 T7:31 417 TA4T 4:32
6:31 7:31 7.09 6:32 6:53 441 T7:32 417 746 4:33
6:32 729 711 6:30 6:54 4:39 7:33 417 746 4:34
6:33 7:27 712 629 6:56 4:38 7:34 416 746 4:35
6:34 7:25 713 6:27 657 437 735 416 745 4:36
10 6:36 7:24 7:15 625 659 435 736 416 7:45 4:38
11 637 722 716 623 7.00 434 737 416 745 4:39
12 6:38 7:20 717 621 7.02 433 738 417 744 440
13 6:40 718 719 619 7:.03 432 7:39 417 T44 441
14 641 716 720 617 7.04 431 740 417 743 443
15 642 714 722 616 7.06 430 741 417 742 444
16 6:43 712 7:23 614 7.07 429 741 417 742 445
17 645 710 7:24 612 7.09 428 7:42 418 741 447
18 646 7:08 7:26 610 7:10 427 7:43 418 7:40 448
19 647 7:.06 727 609 711 426 743 418 740 449
20 6:48 7:.04 7:29 6.07 713 425 744 419 739 451
21 6:50 7:.02 7:30 6:05 7:14 424 T:44 419 T7:38 4:52
22 651 7.00 7:31 6:03 7:16 4:23 7:45 420 7:37 454
23 6:52 6:58 7:33 6:02 7:17 4:23 745 421 T7:36 4:55
24 654 656 7:34 6:00 7:18 4:22 745 421 T7:35 4:56
25 6:55 6:54 7:36 558 T7:19 421 T:46 422 T7:34 4:58
26 6:56 6:52 7:37 557 721 421 T:46 423 T7:33 4:59
27 658 6:50 7:38 555 722 420 746 423 7:32 501
28 6:59 648 T7:40 554 7:23 419 TA7T 424 T7:31 502
29 7:.00 646 7:41 552 725 419 TA47 425 T7:30 5:.04
30 7:01 644 743 551 7:26 419 TA47 426 T7:29 505
31 744 549 TA47 427 T:271 507
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FWP Contacts

Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks State Headquarters
1420 East Sixth Avenue, PO Box 200701,

Helena, MT 59620-0701
Hunter Education.......

Wildlife Division.......

Enforcement Division
Parks Division (Montana State Parks) .............. 406-444-3750
Licensing .....ccoeeeeceveveeeeennenas

Hearing Impaired (use Montana

7-1-1 or 1-800-253-4091

REGION 1
490 N Meridian Rd
Kalispell, MT 59901
(406) 752-5501

REGION 2

3201 Spurgin Rd
Missoula, MT 59804
(406) 542-5500

REGION 3

1400 South 19t Ave
Bozeman, MT 59718-5496
(406) 577-7900

HELENA Area Res Office
(HARO)

930 Custer Ave W
Helena, MT 59620
(406) 495-3260

BUTTE Area Res Office
(BARO)

1820 Meadowlark Ln
Butte, MT 59701

(406) 494-1953

REGION 4

4600 Giant Springs Rd
Great Falls, MT 59405
(406) 454-5840

LEWISTOWN Area Res
Office (LARO)

333 Airport Rd, Ste. 1
PO Box 938
Lewistown, MT 59457
(406) 538-4658

REGION 5

2300 Lake Elmo Dr
Billings, MT 59105
(406) 247-2940

REGION 6

1 Airport Rd
Glasgow, MT 59230
(406) 228-3700

HAVRE Area Res Office
(HVARO)

2165 Hwy 2 East

Havre, MT 59501

(406) 265-6177

REGION 7

352 1-94 Business Loop
PO Box 1630

Miles City, MT 59301
(406)234-0900

406-444-2535
...406-444-9948
...406-444-2612
...406-444-2452

406-444-2950

Montana Outdoors

KEEPING YOU INFORMED: Get the latest 1nformat10n on fish
and wildlife management in Montana Outdoors. P

Fish, Wildlife & Parks, this full-colorm

that puts you on the inside track

access, elk management, pc

One year (Six issue

Call 800-6

Together, we can stop poachers.
It’s time to say Enough is Enough!

Year-round and statewide, poachers
are taking Montana’s biggest and
best game animals. Poaching is illegal.
And it robs law-abiding hunters of hunt-
ing opportunities.

FWP game wardens have broken major
poaching rings recently. TIP-MONT
callers have increased the effectiveness
of our warden’s ability to protect Mon-
tana’s resources. With your help, we
can reduce poaching.

Contacts Outside Fish, Wildlife & Parks

Land Maps
Bureau of Land Management
406-896-5000
Topographical (USGS)
888-275-8747

Tribal Governments

State Lands (DNRC) Bl oo vation

. 406-444-2074 Crow Reservation
ourism 406-638-2179

Make the call:
1-800-TIP-MONT
*

1-800-847-6668

Montana State Agencies
Agriculture
406-444-3144
Guides & Outfitters
406-841-2300
Livestock
406-444-7323

24 Hours a day, 7 days a week

406-841-2870 Flathead Reservation
Federal Agencies 406-883-2888 ext 7200 . an .nE mmm.
US Department of Fort Belknap
Interior (USDI) 406-353-2205

202-208-3100 Fort Peck Reservation

USDI Fish & Wildlife 406-768-5305

Service Northern Cheyenne Reservation
406-449-5225 406-477-6526

Take Responsibility. Make the Call.

i i 65,000 copies of this public document were published at an estimated cost
USDA Forest Service Rocky Boy Reservation of $0.10 per copy, for a total estimated cost of $9,406.25, which includes
406-329-3511 406-395-4207 $6,500 for printing and an estimated $2,906.25 for distribution.

8 Turn In Poachers. Enough is Enough! Make the call: 1-800-847-6668 {\




